She Should’ve…

Okay so last week I was watching the news (something I rarely do) and I came across a story about a Canadian Judge berating a rape victim. Now as you know, the origin of this blog was to be a voice and speak on things that go on that obviously shouldn’t and give people a platform to be heard without being condemned. For instance, the new trend of victim bashing. How do you tell a woman who has been sexually assaulted what she should or shouldn’t have done to prevent someone else from losing control? How Sway? How do you extend excuses for another individual who should have self-control, but obviously doesn’t. I just don’t understand and the fact that it came from someone who is SUPPOSED to be upholding the law is worse. The comments that he said to her like, “She shouldn’t kept her knees closed, or she didn’t fight back hard enough,” were nothing shy of disrespectful and highly unprofessional.

As I continued to read the article, I saw how he is currently under review and could possibly lose his job. Personally, I don’t feel it shouldn’t even be up for question whether or not he should still have his job. If you can tell me how I should have behaved in a situation, you should know how to carry yourself as well. How do we expect citizens to abide by the law when the people who should be enforcing it participate in making the victims feel bad?

Victim bashing is one of the most common reasons women don’t speak up and suffer in silence. Finger-pointing and character assassination only perpetuate the cycle of remaining silent. I feel as a society we have to better with obtaining facts and extending compassion to someone who has been violated. I’ve always felt that despite what a woman wears, what she may be doing or where she may be NEVER gives anyone the right to step out of themselves and assault them in any kind of way. Self control is something we all should have and if not then consequences will follow your actions.  CASE CLOSED.

Leave a comment