Her Things To do List

Do you have a to do list? If so, what is it for? House chores, work tasks. kids activities, what? Within your collection of things to do, would you possibly have a list of things to do to NOT get murdered? or be robbed? Better yet, do you have a list of things to do that involves the actions and behaviors of another individual? Yeah I didn’t think you did, so why do people feel it’s okay to give women tips on how NOT to get rape when being raped is not something we can do to ourselves. I literally almost jumped out of my skin when I saw an article on the Huffington Post’s site that someone felt the need to create to aid women in not getting raped. Like seriously, how can a woman prevent being attacked by someone who obviously has no self-control over himself? Among the other obvious victim shaming statements, this one has to be far be the worst. It’s like not only does the victim have to play the event over and over in her mind; she now gets the opportunity to hear thousands of people tell her what she should do in the future to not be attacked again. Seriously?

People seriously think its okay to tell someone who was attacked what they should’ve done to prevent the attack versus dissect the reasons behind why the attacker broke the law and violated another human being. For example, I’m at home and its the middle of the night. My doors and windows are locket, yet and still someone manages to break into my home, straddle me and forcefully thrust himself inside of me over and over again. Now although I am inside my locked home, someone somewhere would find a way to excuse his behavior. I could see comments like, “she should’ve had a burglar alarm” or “didn’t she hear him break the window.” All of these comments are the reasons why women don’t report their attack and they suffer in silence. My advice to the social media psychologists and therapists would be to try creating a list of reasons it is NOT okay to rape someone and shut the hell up.

Leave a comment