Screaming Inside

Have you ever had so much going on in your head that your body is literally screaming inside? I recently recorded by video assignment for this subject matter and I was taken back by the comments made by the young women I interviewed. On one hand it was so mind-blowing and on the other so disheartening. As I listened to each of them tell their stories, I found one commonality with them all. Out of fear none of them, not one spoke up and said anything, so they suffered in silence. They all struggled with this madness that had occurred to them because speaking out was far more fearful to them then allowing the voices to scream loudly in their heads. As I listened, I remembered seeing so many articles backing their reasoning for not speaking out and it was all centered around the backlash they worried about receiving. I look online when a tragic event occurs and it’s the same thing over and over again…blame the victim, vindicate the attacker. Whether its rape, unjustified murders, or any type of crime; the victim seems to bear the brunt of the blame. So what to they do? They remain silent and allow the voices to scream inside their heads. They retreat internally while battling the external damage they have coming from all types of directions. I myself have done this. I am quick to retreat inward and deal with whatever I have swarming in my head there.

It may not be the healthiest form of healing, but what’s the alternate option? Speak up and risk being attacked by everyone around me? Yeah I’ll pass and I see why they do as well. Eventually, the voices screaming inside silence themselves but never before the outside ones do.

Leave a comment