Who fights for her? Who fights for me?

In searching for articles in relation to this topic, I stumbled upon this video. It was a letter read by a victim of rape to the court during her attacker’s sentencing trial. The letter was so powerful, heart-wrenching and sad as I listed to the words she recited. Her words were a cry for help, a cry for justice against her attacker, but the system failed. After she finished, the judge passed a sentence of 6 months. Yes, you heard me….6 months! Is that justice? Did the judge fight for what she lost? How does that sentence vindicate her and what she has to live with for the rest of her life. To me and many others, this sentence was not only a slap on the wrist, but an insult to the woman who had been violated against her will. What do you do when the justice sentence fails you? Who do victims run to when they have been attacked? I think about this and it saddens me because I fear that if I were ever in this situation, would this been the case?

Would the judge listen to my plea for justice and sentence with such cavalier ruling? After witnessing this and seeing the uproar behind the lightweight punishment; I have two questions for you. What kind of message does this send to the victims of rape? And if I were ever in this situation, who can I possibly count on to fight for me?

Leave a comment