she’s asking for it….

I’ve always been puzzled by this statement. I’ve never understood it or could even bring myself to fathom how people could even part their lips to say this. How does a person ask to be sexually assaulted? I think about that comment and I equate it to someone saying, “oh he asked to be murdered.” Who the hell ask for any type of violence to come their way? This statement is definitely one of the top five statements uttered not just by the attackers themselves, but the peanut gallery who spews the victim shaming statements. Personally, I could never allow “someone asked for it” to spill out of my mouth. This is nothing other than an excuse for someone who obviously has no self-control. Yes, that young lady may have been flirting and yes she may have been seductively dancing on you, but sir that doesn’t mean she was asking for you to rape her. Could it possibly be she was enjoying your company for that moment that she was out and now that its over she’s moved past it? I really feel that as a society, we have grown into this micro-organism of excuses. We find reasons to excuse behaviors we chose not to confront. It seems we have compassion in regards to punishing someone to harshly, but not act that requires the punishment in the first place.

Unless a woman opens her mouth and says, “please rape me” she is never asking for you to sexually assault her and you can keep that BS excuse.

Leave a comment